Got Milk?

I’m a Midwestern girl who grew up with a glass of milk at every meal, but as I’ve gotten older,  and started to consider the implications of my choices when it comes to food nutrition and production, this commonplace drink started to make me think.

If you follow me on twitter, or watch my Facebook updates, you know I have some troubles with milk. Cow’s milk, to be exact. No, I’m not lactose intolerant, no, I don’t have any allergies, but I do have some concerns with how it’s produced.  I need to point out that I recognize that I am a total hypocrite when it comes to cheese or sour cream – I know these products come from the same cow’s milk that I refuse to drink, but at least I’m cutting down a little.

So what’s my big deal? The way that our dairies are run today troubles me. They are factory farms where the cows are fed subsidized corn and shot up with hormones and antibiotics. I wouldn’t eat their flesh—why would I drink their milk?

For me, switching away from cow’s milk hasn’t been a big deal. In a perfect world, I’d switch to raw milk, produced by a local farmer, but for now, I’ve supplemented where I need to with rice or almond milk. But to me, this milk situation brings up a much bigger question/issue – Why is milk so pivotal and important in our culture?

Mammals are defined by the presence of mammary glands- glands that produce milk to feed their young. In this category are horses, cows, mice, rabbits, bats, whales and of course- humans. But as special as we are, we’re the only ones in this category that continue to drink milk into adulthood and milk from another species. And it’s not weird at all! (at least where I’m from) When I told my parents I had stopped drinking milk, they were immediately concerned about my health. Where was I getting my calcium?? Surely my spine was about to crumble. And while I listened to them, and went back home determined to drink more milk (almond/rice), I soon started to wonder—where do other mammals (including humans) get their nutrients?

For lactose intolerant people, the remedies are usually milk supplements, drugs or pills. It’s hardly ever to stop drinking milk entirely. But of course, this all is mostly an American idea; milk at every meal, milk in every dish. In other countries and cultures, milk is not as prevalent.  For example, tracking the lactose enzyme in humans is a way to track human evolution and migration.

So what are your thoughts on Cow’s Milk? Why is it so important in our society- maybe it’s just Midwest? Is it really about nutrition, or is it all and advertising ploy? Do we need to drink milk because we’re not eating other foods that have calcium, or going outside to get our dose of vitamin D?

Our dependence on milk is a curiosity of mine. Think about how often it’s in your life. Think about other cultures and their interactions with milk. And please leave your comments!

http://www.raw-milk-facts.com/Raw_Milk_FAQ.html

http://nourishedkitchen.com/10-reasons-drink-raw-milk/

http://www.peta.org/issues/animals-used-for-food/dairy-industry.aspx




Leave a Reply.